I Am Not A Gringo

Apparently, in the strictest sense of the word, Gringo only applies to Americans. Since I am not a filthy Yank, I am saved the torment of that particular phrase. Suck it, Americans!

I am also not a racist. I quite like some Americans. Some. Russians, however…

In other news, I started reading the Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. It’s quite a fascinating read so far, but I will say that the bleak coldness of distant Russia feels quite alien in this land of warmth and majesty. It’s strange how realism for some is escapism to others.

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I've heard it referred to too often to ignore any longer.

Watched the film 500 Days of Summer last night. Wonderful stuff – very clever film making with one of the best final lines I’ve seen since the German film The Lives of Others. I think I may be getting my emotions back, too. I didn’t cry, but for the first time in a long time I actually understood why people would. This is a wholly new experience for me.

The film explores Love. But it is very clever with it and in the end is a very nuanced, complex tale with a strong dramatic character study in its own right. My thanks to Sebastian Hosu for the rec.

1 Comment

Filed under Some 'Ol Bullshit

One response to “I Am Not A Gringo

  1. Pingback: The Plan « And In Paradise I Am

Leave a Reply

