The Plan

Out of Arcadia

I’ve returned to San José after eight weeks at a mountain farm in the middle of the jungle. I’ll miss that place. I’ll miss the waterfall, the beautiful vistas, the daily runs, the cats Pecho Blanco and Paluche, the gorgeous dog Osito and the good food. I’ll miss the company and the pleasant atmosphere. I won’t miss the bed, though. My neck hates me for that one. Anyway, that phase is over, I feel like a million dollars and I’m now going to disappear into the great wilderness and invade country after country in my quest for glory and knowledge.

And Up Into Arcadia

I have about four months to travel several thousand kilometres before I have to return to Europe and Preside the German National Session of the European Youth Parliament in June. That’s plenty of time to undergo a transcendental shift of epic magnitude; a personal revival of legendary proportions or even just a slight readjustment of self. I’m content with whatever happens as long as I’m not raped, mugged, murdered, shot, kidnapped, forced into slavery or mistaken for a American. Come to think of it, I could probably stomach all that except the last one. See I Am Not A Gringo

I will be picking up supplies and equipment along the way. I just sent a parcel with 10kg of extra stuff back home. Three books, one extra pair of shoes, two dress shirts, my best pair of Hugo Boss jeans, my shaving equipment and a few minor bits and pieces that I look forward to being reunited with but really don’t need for the moment. So my bags now weigh about 16kilos, which is super light. Add a tent and wet gear to that (will buy tomorrow or maybe in Guatemala) and I’m looking at a pack of less than 20kgs.

Contents of my Deuter Quantum Rucksack:

  • Water purification tablets
  • Boot Cleaners/Waterproofing
  • Flippy-floppies
  • 6 pairs of socks – 3 Normal, 3 Hiking
  • 6 pairs of Underwear
  • One pair of Craghoppers waterproof trousers
  • One pair of Columbia light hiking trousers
  • One pair of Ecco hiking boots, waterproofed
  • 5 t shirts, only one with a vaguely ironic hipster logo
  • One Gant Polo Shirt
  • One Round Hat, very sailor-esque
  • One Nice-Looking-But-Hardy Timberland Shirt
  • One North Face Semi-Waterproof Jumper
  • One Tommy Hilfiger Fleece
  • One Green Buff (bandana)
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov
  • Richard Dawkin’s The Greatest Show on Earth
  • Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall
  • One Sony Vaio Laptop w/ charger
  • One pair Sennheiser headphones
  • One pair Creative earphones
  • One Archos 604 MP4 Player with WiFi and a fading battery that lasts about two hours (will replace soon)
  • One Passport, Irish
  • Two Free USB Keys 2Gb
  • One Neck Pillow
  • One Cotton Sleeper
  • One Spanish Phrasebook
  • One Learn Spanish CD that came free with the Guardian
  • One Spork
  • Two Bandages for any muscular injuries
  • Assorted Band Aids and Medical Tape for minor wounds
  • Two water bottles with collective capacity of 3 litres

Need to Buy:

  • First Aid Kit
  • Small One Man Tent
  • Sleeping Bag
  • Mattress
  • Another Pillow
  • Bigger Water Bottle
  • Waterproof Top (maybe a poncho or something)

Mood: Impetuous*

Stamina: Fresh

Food: Yes, Please.

Here’s a map of the plan so far. I’ll be adding this to all posts from now on with further updates as events warrant!

*Impetuous:

adj

1. liable to act without consideration; rash; impulsive
2. resulting from or characterized by rashness or haste
3. Poetic moving with great force or violence
1 Comment

Filed under Dearest Diary of Mine

One response to “The Plan

  1. Happy-travelling-on Mr Jb, with love from me and the Cobnor lot. It was good fun Skypeing you xx

Leave a Reply

